Appeasement vs. Trust

Spent this evening in a teaching at Xenos about Cain and Abel. Cain gave his crops, Abel gave the firstborn of his flock. I came away with this – Cain’s crops were appeasement, Abel’s firstborn calf was trust.

What does it look like to trust and give God everything I am? What does it look like to go all in with God? What does it look like to entrust to Him things I so badly want to control, but really have no control over them because I honestly don’t know what’s going to be thrown at me by people.

I’m living in a world of limbo right now in a relationship that I’ve been in for several years. Not sure what to do with it. I know what I want to do, but is that my desire to have control taking over, or is it something I’m really supposed to do? Am I just going through motions trying to appease Jesus, or am I really living in Him and trusting Him?

Super applicable teaching tonight. Makes me think. My thinking wheels are turning. What’s the next step I need to take? Do I take a hard step and deal with waves of confrontation that are sure to come crashing down, or do I just sit by and live in “peace.” If I take the step and endure the waves, I feel that means I’m trusting. If I sit by and live in “peace” I may not be doing what really needs to be done. Really, I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

