Beautiful and Hopeful

We said good bye to Maudine today. Someone asked me how the service was and I said it was beautiful and hopeful. The songs we sang, the scripture that was read, the song Mark sang and the eulogy that Craig gave; all were just a small snap shot of who this incredible woman was. The slideshow showed some sweet memories that I’m sure were treasures to those who remember their mom, mother-in-law and grandma the way they’d always known her. I only knew her for 4 short years, but for some reason it feels as though she had been a part of my life for so much longer.

I was invited downstairs for dinner with them when we got home. I was a “fly on the wall in Fee-ville” and it was an honor. Sometimes someone was playing a guitar and singing. There was lots of talking and bonding and just being together. I got to talk with Gordon for a little bit and just sit with him. That was a sweet time. So much of the evening I found myself just sitting and looking around at people being together. They’re the Fee’s. Getting together all at one time is not uncommon for this family. However, getting together without the matriarch of the bunch was probably very surreal to them.

My heart is with them as the days, weeks, months and years go by without this sweet woman. Jesus, hold them tight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

