A Dear Place in My Heart

Her name was Peggy Keeton. She was a woman of sweet kindness, and was a very funny and caring soul. I got to know her as she drove my bus when I was in the 7th grade. She became a dear friend. So many memories of her pass through my thoughts as today I learned of her passing as she lost a battle to Alzheimer’s. My heart is broken that she is gone, but my heart holds onto an indescribable hope that she is with our Creator and she is whole.

Peggy, you were a sweet soul who introduced me to the great joy of writing to a celebrity – that’s how I got hooked on Carol Burnett! I sat beside you at many Warsaw Tiger basketball games. I used to sit with you during your neighborhood’s annual garage sale as my mom and sister walked around to the garage sales. You came to my wedding (I just looked through my album so I could see your face). The last time I saw you was at Ryan and Ashlie’s high school graduation open house. It was a sweet reunion that day. I remember sitting beside you in their house and you held my hand as we talked all afternoon. Laughs, jokes, smiles, hugs.

I miss you. Thank you for being my friend. You hold a very dear place in my heart. I will look forward to the day when we will have another reunion; tears of joy and laughter when we are completely whole in the presence of our God who loves deeply and completely.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

