Going Back

It’s Spring. I find my mind wandering back to some key places in an old city where we used to live. We only spent 5 1/2 years there, but there are many memories for me, and the Spring sunshine brings them to the forefront of my mind.

Walking to my favorite coffee shop. Up the lane and across the street and sitting at a table by the window with my book or my journal. I used to sit there for hours at a time refilling my coffee for 90 cents. Spring makes me miss that place.

The Co-Op Community Market. I loved being able to walk there from my apartment. I found myself enamored by the fact that I could actually get to so many places in my little neighborhood by walking, not driving. It was a small dose of NYC life. How I yearned to move from the quaint little neighborhood and into the big City. Never did I imagine that one day the first day of Spring would stir emotion like it is right now.

Taking a walk with my husband to another coffee shop up the road to sit on a bench and talk about life and plans and what we were going to do. It makes me miss being back there.

Running the path through the woods that led by the river. Gorgeous. That was one of my favorite things about Spring that made me feel alive. Running for the first time in months because the snow and ice had finally melted.

At this moment I yearn to be back in that Midwest town. I miss it. I miss the simple way of life back then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

