Are you ready for some running???

I’m running a race on Sunday. I’m rather scared out of my wits. In February, I signed up for a half marathon. I asked Anna to run this with me. She so kindly said yes, and she’s been training her heart out. I, on the other hand, didn’t train as well as I wanted to and I’m very nervous about how things will go on Sunday.

I had to make peace with the fact that I’ll be running and walking. I know, I know, it’s not a bad thing, but when I signed up for this, I really hoped that I would be able to train to run it. I fear how my body will react to the mileage. Everything from my side, to my hips, to my knees, to my toes, to blisters on my feet. I fear this.

Do all runners have these fears right before a race? I think they have some fears, but most of them have trained and know how their body will react. We’ll see.

My friend Sandy ran a half a few weeks ago and said she hadn’t trained at all. She said she ran/walked and finished. My goal is to finish. And then I will sign up for another race and will train and will run it. I’m determined to do this. Why? I don’t know. Before I got pregnant I thought running long distance was ridiculous. Then I had Mathilda, gained stupid weight the first year of her life, and I said to myself that I will do anything it takes to lose this baby weight. So I signed up for a half marathon. I even signed up for the NYC marathon (but didn’t get in – whew – good thing). I lost some weight, can actually wear my old jeans again, but in February, I had a completely different vision of what the state of my body would be like today compared to what it actually is. I’m rather disappointed.

Sunday will be a challenge. I don’t know how ready I am. I’m nervous. We’ll see how it goes.

I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

