It’s Officially Summer

The Summer Solstice was June 21st. We’re finally into summer even though it’s felt like it a lot of days since April. Sure, May had more days of rain and cold than I can remember, but the heat started in April for sure. We’ve had lovely days of walking and/or running through the park when we stopped to go swinging and enjoy the beautiful weather. My sweet girl has learned very well how to climb on the jungle gym and slide down the slide. Today she did this at least 15 times in a row and we both had a marvelous time. I hadn’t looked at a slide with such joy in what seems like decades (oh wait, it has been decades). There’s a great little kid slide that has simple steps leading up to it. The steps aren’t anything like a ladder, they’re more like stairs (which Mathilda loves to climb anywhere she finds them), and the slide is small, yet steep enough, that this little toddler beams with great joy when she slides down. Too cute. I actually beamed with great joy, even after 15 times in the crazy sun. Pure delight for both of us.

But I say it’s officially summer because for the first time in Mathilda’s little life, we got to share a delightful cup of vanilla ice cream from the Mister Softee truck. We’re both forever hooked on what has now become an “official beginning of summer” tradition.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s Officially Summer

  1. Charlie Frisinger

    JoLayne, I think this is absolutely precious and thanks for sharing with us. I will be watching for you blogs to keep up with you and the wee one.

  2. windy

    I love your words JoLayne! You should be a writer!

  3. Kris

    Lovely post and thanks for inviting me to read your blog. However, I must cite an astrological error in this post. This year’s solstice was actually on the 20th, at just after 7pm, to be precise. 🙂

  4. Kris, I appreciate your correcting my astrological error. 🙂

Leave a Reply

